My 1950’s DIY Hollywood Glam Wedding

Image

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

ImageImageImage

Image

This was our wedding. In all of its’ DIY Splendour! We did everything ourselves, and I mean it! From a-z! I made all of the invitations by hand, scrapbook style. I made the programs. My husband and I took the photo of our two dogs, Zoey and Henry, and dressed them up as Bride and Groom for the photos on the invites!!!

I made the table cards by collecting photos of famous couples, like JFK and Jackie, Bogie & Bacall, Marilyn Monroe & Joe DiMaggio, etc. We made all the centerpieces from Vases we bought at Home Goods, and the main centerpiece was a silver painted Manzanita Branch tree covered in Crystals!

The Bridesmaid dresses were off the rack from Lord & Taylor, bought on sale for $100. In lieu of flowers, the bridesmaids held hand painted fans that I designed and commissioned from an Etsy seller. My bouquet was French glass beaded flowers made by a woman I found online, who made it for $60. I sewed on the Evenstar (from Lord of the Rings) pendant that my husband gave me years ago.

Our venue was offbeat, a 1950’s style hall, very unassuming but all wood, and just gorgeous inside! We played standards, and had my father-in-law’s doo-wop group sing as well! My niece also sang Elvis for us, which was amazing.

The grooms cake was Superman, of course!!! Barbie & Ken Vintage mini Christmas ornaments served as our cake topper! We had a Candy Bar for our favors, and it was dotted with Vintage Barbie dolls and lots of candy, with silver Chinese Take Out Containers! I bought all the candy jars and bowls at TJ Maxx and Home Goods.

My dress was second hand, and my veil and headpiece were made from an Etsy seller. My shoes were $5 at the local thrift shop. The men’s Boutonnieres were paper flowers and swarovski crystals, made by an Etsy seller. ย The Flower Girl & Ring Bearers pillow and basket were made by an Etsy seller.

We had a great time. We spent $7500 total and had 80 guests.

7124_160758219533_2980407_n 7124_159081439533_5152139_n 7124_160758244533_2336581_n 7124_166351719533_2296024_n

3 thoughts on “My 1950’s DIY Hollywood Glam Wedding

  1. Wow! This was magnificent! You did an excellent job, and that you did such a gorgeous job and stretched the money you spent to cover so much is a beautiful example for every DIY dreamer. You will, no doubt, inspire many beautiful brides and grooms to follow your frugal but beautiful example. I applaud you!

    May God bless you with a beautiful life together that grows richer in comradeship and sympathetic understanding as the years go by, and may your sorrows and struggles always build your marriage and knit your hearts closer into a beautiful unified whole.

    Praying for you,

    Gwennon

  2. Impressive! ๐Ÿ‘€๐Ÿ‘Everyone,(&everything) in your photos looks beautiful JCM! You looked like perfection in your beautiful Wedding Gown,-Its as if the designer had you alone in mind when creating it!.. & I must complement you on that very impressive ending-budget-total!-(especially for “this area!”) No doubt that had to take a bit of patient-research, creativity,& determination to “pull-off” on-budget,-& in-style!๐Ÿ’๐Ÿ’ž๐Ÿ˜Š -Tanti-Auguri! ๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡น๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ

Leave a Reply

